Is there room for one more?

HI! Welcome to my new blog. I’m pretty excited to be finally entering the 21st century. I’ve been writing a newsletter for a few years now, first “Healthy Insights” which focused on mostly food and nutrition, and now “Yoga Buzz,” which is about yoga and still, to a degree, food and nutrition. So I thought a blog would make sense. I mean, aren’t e-newsletters so Y2K? Do you think there is room for yet one more blog?

A little about me: I’m a 39 year old yoga teacher in Northern Virginia. I teach vinyasa yoga in a variety of gyms and yoga studios, and I have my own business, Double Dog Yoga, that offers small group classes for people just starting out in yoga. I have to say, teaching beginner yoga students is a real blessing.

I’m married to Doug – it’ll be FIVE YEARS in June. Doug’s a really amazing human being. If you get the chance to meet him, you will know that instantly – that he’s really amazing. We have two dogs, Marty and Rosie, and a cat.

I’m really excited right now because I’m on “assignment” for Modern Mom Magazine ! Mod Mom’s founder, Hulya Aksu, asked me to develop a directory of yoga and Pilates studios in Fairfax and Loudoun counties and write a review. This means I have a reason now to try out different types of yoga and studios. I mean, I’m ON ASSIGNMENT! So over the next few days I’ll be doing my research and drafting my article – I’ll be sure to report back here on what I’ve learned.

OK – so before I go I have to share a photo of Rosie, doing what she does best.

Ha ha! Don’t you just want to give her a big belly rub?

Bye for now,

Julia

5 Responses to “Is there room for one more?”

  1. chelsea Says:

    Congrats Julia. I will be sure to read all of your posts, especially the bead ones.
    p.s. where’s the cat love? what, no name?

  2. Julia Says:

    OH. The cat’s called Stella. Nuff said 🙂

  3. Doug Says:

    Stella is an AWESOME cat. I did not like cats before Stella, but I do now. In fact, I will make sure there are plenty of photos of her on this blog.

  4. Ann Says:

    I’m glad you’ve started this, Julia. I think it’s cool. The only blog I look at from time to time is BitchPhD, which is rather more political. I think I’m so lucky to be in your yoga class!

  5. Julia Says:

    Thank you, Ann! I checked out the blog you mentioned and it’s pretty funny! 🙂

Leave a Reply

