West Coast Fun

I’m back from my West Coast Adventure. Wow – I had such a great time. We flew first to Denver and spent a few days visiting our friends Benji and Peggy. Unfortunately I arrived with cold (first one in about four years!) and so I spent our first two days in Denver lying in Benji and Peggy’s guest room. By the way, flying 3+ hours with a cold is NOT FUN at all 😦 So I didn’t see much of Denver but by Monday I was feeling better enough to journey into Boulder.

In Boulder we walked along Pearl Street and popped in and out of stores and coffee shops. I especially liked the Dushanbe Teahouse on 13th, a little ways off of Pearl. We didn’t stay for tea because we had already gotten chai at a different place but the Teahouse was really cute and if we had more time I would sampled as much tea as I could!

From Pearl Street we went to Celestial Seasonings headquarters just outside of Boulder. We got a tour of the factory, which was pretty cool. Celestial Seasonings was started by a couple of hippies who figured that Boulder was a great place to grow herbs for teas. It’s now the largest tea manufacturer in the world. Highlights of the tour included the sampling room, where you can try 100 of their teas (!), and the mint room, where they store the peppermint and spearmint. Let me tell you, if you are at all congested that room will clear you out instantly, if you can take it, that is!

I did manage to eat out one night in Denver at Water Course, a really excellent vegetarian restaurant. I had the reuben sandwich made with tempeh – YUM! If you are in Denver, I highly recommend you check out this place.

From Denver we flew to LA and thankfully I was fully recovered at that point because I knew that in LA I was going to take lots of yoga classes! Although there are several excellent studios near where we stayed in Venice, I ended up going exclusively to the Exhale Center for Sacred Movement in Venice. This is where I went last summer for the Summer Immersion program with Shiva Rea, and so I knew I would find excellent classes there. Plus it was just two blocks from our hotel, Su Casa right on the Venice boardwalk.

I took classes with Kishan Shah, Erich Schiffmann, Micheline Berry, Hala Khouri, and Saul David Raye. I loved every class I took there, although the styles and paces really varied. It was excellent – complete yoga heaven. And there were several classes I didn’t take that I would have liked to at Yogaworks or at Power Yoga in Santa Monica. Next time…

Other highlights in the Santa Monica area:

  • Yummy cupcakes at Yummy Cupcakes. How can you go wrong with a red velvet cupcake with cream cheese frosting?
  • Wednesday night service at Agape. Michael Beckwith wasn’t there but instead there was a highly inspirational speaker there from Jamaica. I unfortunately don’t remember her name but she was truly excellent.
  • Healthy boardwalk munchies at Figtree Cafe on Venice Beach. I’ve eaten there several times and really like the food there, although I have to admit I sent back my fish tacos! The vegetarian food there however is really good.
  • Geoffrey’s in Malibu. Someone told me it’s located right above Tommy Lee’s house but we didn’t see him. It’s sort of expensive but overlooks the water and is a really nice place. This was our big fancy meal out.
  • But better than Geoffrey’s, in our opinion, was Real Food Daily in Santa Monica. This place was awesome! I had the BBQ Chopped Salad (really good) and Doug got the Mexico City Tacos, which were amazing. I also had a Teeccino latte. I love Teeccino and had never seen it served in a restaurant before. I am now in search of a good milk foam maker so that I can enjoy Teeccino lattes at home!

As usual, we brought along our camera and then didn’t take any pictures 😦 I have to get better at that! Next month I’m off to Cancun with my college girlfriends for a week and hopefully I’ll be better about taking pictures!

3 Responses to “West Coast Fun”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    What is Teeccino? A great tour guide gave me an Expresso/Latte machine, It steams milk really well.

  2. Julia Says:

    Teeccino is an herbal “coffee” made from chicory, almonds, figs, etc. It comes is fabulous flavors like chocolate mint and amaretto hazelnut. You can read more about it on the Teeccino website http://www.teeccino.com, and you can purchase it online or at Whole Foods. Enjoy!

  3. Erin Owen Says:

    Jules: The trip sounds fab! I LOVE Colorado AND yoga, so you know I loved reading about your adventure.

Leave a Reply

