The Secret to Losing Weight

I’m really excited. I stepped on the scale today and I have reached my goal weight. I never thought I’d EVER see this number on the scale again, and there it was today 🙂

In early April I realized that I had put on quite few pounds and was fast approaching my all time highest weight ever. I decided that I needed to put a halt to that ASAP.

So here’s what I did: exercised more and ate less.

It’s that simple.

For me, the exercise comes easy. As long as I have the time I will happily hop on a treadmill, swim, or walk my dogs. No problem there.

But I do love to eat. And even though I make every effort to make good choices, I was eating more than I should to be at a weight I enjoy. It’s the food that gets me – especially eating out at restaurants, samples at the grocery store, any sweets, pizza, etc, etc.

For me, the best way to monitor the food I’m eating is to write it all down. EVERYTHING that goes into my mouth gets recorded. At first I tried counting calories and that helped. Then I started using the Weight Watchers point system and that REALLY helped. They have a three-month membership that can help you get on your way. I also recently learned about SparkPeople, a free online set of weight management tools that includes calorie counter, food tracker, recipes, tips, and more. Check it out at www.sparkpeople.com.

Here’s a list of all that I’ve found helpful for losing weight:

1. Have a buddy or two that support your efforts. For me, my friend Kate and my husband Doug have been invaluable.
2. Write down everything you eat.
3. Get smart about calories, fat, and fiber. Wake up to the fact that you are probably eating more than you think you are.
4. Exercise – do something you enjoy. Find a buddy for this too!
5. More fruits and veggies; fewer processed foods.
6. Before you eat, really think about whether or not you are actually hungry.
7. Eat a little bit, often. Don’t save up all your point / calories for one big meal at the end of the day.
8. A good breakfast is absolutely necessary.
9. Drink lots and lots and lots of water.
10. Realize that you really can do this. Acknowledge those self-limiting beliefs you’ve been holding on to and sweep them away. Replace them with what you really, reallly want for yourself. One of my favorite quotes – DISCIPLINE IS REMEMBERING WHAT YOU REALLY WANT.

Good luck! I’d love to hear your advice, tips, comments for achieving and maintaining your healthy weight 🙂

One Response to “The Secret to Losing Weight”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I could have written your blog for me. I am not sure if I will ever reach the lowest weight I have ever been. I do not care either. I want to be healthy and feel good. Exercise really works.

    Motivation is important. I do not know what trggers it for me. One day the willingness is there. It can disapear just as easily. I am okay for today and I feel great.
    I lost my voice. My friend asked me what it is I do not want to say. She always make me think.
    What would I be without real friends?

Leave a Reply

