Retreat

Hello from sunny California! I’m sitting right now on a roof-top deck overlooking Venice Beach and the ocean. The weather is perfect – about 75 degrees with a cool breeze. I have the entire deck to myself. It’s perfect.

As I sat back on the chaise lounge and realized that I have no where I have to be and nothing I have to do, I sighed loudly and felt a huge wave of relaxation pour over me. It was kind of surprising since my life is pretty stress-free and I am being exactly who I want to be. But I guess even in the best of circumstances you can get to that point where you need a respite, and not even be aware that you need it.

I’m here for an advanced yoga teacher training with my teacher, Shiva Rea. It starts tomorrow at 630am and will run for the next 8 days. From what I’ve heard, it’s going to be pretty physically challenging. My suitemate Andrew wants to go running tomorrow at 5am. I said OK but now I’m starting to wonder about that decision.

It’s so nice up here. I think I just might close my eyes for a bit….

Leave a Reply

