I love frozen yogurt

Last summer I spent quite a bit of time in the Santa Monica / Venice area of California. I fell in love with Red Mango, a delicious frozen yogurt place where the yogurt tastes like real, fresh yogurt – much different that what I’ve tried in the past (TCBY). I loved it so much that I went there every day for 10 days to get a fix! I LOVE their original yogurt with fruit and mochi toppings. Best of all, it’s low calorie, low fat, and delicious. 🙂

So I was thrilled to find out that an “Iceberry” just opened in Reston Town Center. Not quite Red Mango, but very, very similar. I have gone there a couple of times and it really is quite good.

HOWEVER, I am VERY DISAPPOINTED that this particular location seems to be quite stingy with their toppings. When I asked for more blueberries, I was told that blueberries are expensive and I should go to the grocery store to see for myself. (!!!)

So I decided to make my own frozen yogurt and I found this great recipe. I made it last week and I have to say I think it’s even better than Iceberry (sorry). I used Stoneyfield Farm’s cream on top yogurt. It’s not the low cal / low fat treat I had at Red Mango – I think I’ll try that next even though they say to use whole-milk yogurt.

from: http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/a-frozen-yogurt-recipe-to-rival-pinkberrys-recipe.html

Vanilla Frozen Yogurt Recipe

Heidi notes: First off, remember it is important to use good-quality whole-milk yogurt. The version in David’s book is Vanilla Frozen Yogurt. This time around I skipped out on the vanilla, opting for straight, bright white yogurt with the sweetness playing off the tang of the yogurt. I also used slightly less sugar than called for here, more like 2/3 cup – but you can go either way depending on what you like.

3 cups (720g) strained yogurt (see below) or Greek-style yogurt
3/4 cup (150g) sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (optional)

Mix together the yogurt, sugar, and vanilla (if using). Stir until the sugar is completely dissolved. Refrigerate 1 hour.

Freeze in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

To make 1 cup (240g) of strained yogurt, line a mesh strainer with a few layers of cheese cloth. then scrape 16 ounces or 2 cups (480g) of plain whole-milk yogurt into the cheesecloth. Gather the ends and fold them over the yogurt, then refrigerate for at least 6 hours. So, for the above recipe start with and strain 6 cups of yogurt.

Makes about 1 quart.

Leave a Reply

