Dealing with Garlic

I use garlic a lot in my cooking, and these are the two tools I’ve found to be most helpful for getting the garlic out of it’s peel and into the pot:

1. Zyliss Jumbo Garlic Press. I just purchased my Zyliss and so far I love it. Here’s why:

a. You can put the entire clove into the press without peeling it first!
b. It’s big – I can get more than one clove into the press at a time.
c. It comes with a little plastic cleaner which is terrific for cleaning out all the little holes.
d. It’s sturdy.

If you start looking at Zyliss presses, I suggest avoiding the Zyliss Susi 2 Garlic Press. From what I hear it does not include the plastic cleaner.

2. Oxo Good Grips Garlic Chopper. This is what I use to dice garlic. I know, you can just use a knife. But I have found when I use a knife my fingers end up smelling like garlic and it’s difficult to get tiny, uniform pieces. The Garlic Chopper is great because:

a. It’s lasted me a long time. I used to have the Garlic Genius from Williams Sonoma which cost more and broke after a short time.
b. It has a niftly little scoop so that you can scrape all the little pieces out.
c. It goes into the dishwasher 🙂
d. It’s easy to assemble and doesn’t slip when you use it.

Leave a Reply

