Homemade Vanilla Almond Milk That Rocks!!

I absolutely adore almond milk. And it’s so ridiculously easy to make at home! All you need is a blender and  I love to make almond milk in the morning and use it in my breakfast smoothie.

Here’s what you do to make delicious vanilla almond milk:

1. Soak one cup of raw almonds in four cups of water overnight. I suggest getting the raw almonds at Trader Joe’s as they seem to have the best prices, but I’ve seen them at Whole Foods, Harris Teeter, and Giant as well.

dsc_0125

2. Pour the almonds AND the soaking water into your blender. I use a Vitamix blender but I’m pretty sure any decent blender can handle this If you’re not so sure about your blender, you can soak the almonds longer. Blend on high for about 2 minutes  (again, I use a Vitamix – your blender might need a little more time to fully pulverize the almonds).

dsc_01261

3. Strain the blended almonds and water through a nut milk bag or cheesecloth. Make sure you squeeze the bag / cheesecloth thoroughly. Rinse out your blender.

dsc_013014. Return the strained milk to the blender, add in about 1 teaspoon vanilla extract and your favorite sweetener, and blend for about 15 seconds. I prefer agave nectar (found in most health food stores and Whole Foods) and I add about ¼ cup. You can play around with the vanilla and the sweetener to get the taste you like best.

dsc_01342

It’s so easy, so yummy, and so good for you. Try it and let me know how it goes!

dsc_0135

PS: After you strain the milk in step 3 you’re left with the ground up almonds – it’s kind of like a paste. I’ve heard you can make an “almond cheese” out of it but I haven’t been able to successfully do that. Any creative ideas on what to do with the leftover almonds? Has anyone made the “cheese?”

dsc_0137

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Homemade Vanilla Almond Milk That Rocks!!”

  1. lailablogs Says:

    looks absolutly delicious .. i just wish i could fine agave syrup around where i live … Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

  2. doubledogyoga Says:

    Laila try it without the agave…i have and it’s really good just not sweet. or perhaps use honey?? or regular sugar?? if you try it let me know how it turns out 🙂

Leave a Reply

