Yoga in Every Day Life: The Yoga Toilet (?)

Breaking news – a group of students and faculty at ASU College of Design has developed a new toilet called Go With the Flo™ that they hope is the prototype of future toilets. Some important details about Go With The Flo ™  include:

  • It’s ergonomic
  • Only one-half to one gallon of water is used for flushing and The Flo™ reuses water from hand washing.
  • Free of mechanical parts
  • Fully self-sustaining and independent of electric power

flotoilet_468x576
Cool, huh? Now how might this toilet be compared to yoga, you ask?


“Designers maintain that using the Flo™ toilet is akin to yoga – by building and strengthening abdominal and back muscles.”

“We hope our design will alter the toilet archetype by the year 2030,” says John Takamura, design team leader and assistant professor of industrial design in the ASU College of Design.


Thank goodness for Malasana because we’ll need it for this toilet!!

So this got me thinking about how yoga poses help me in my everyday life:

Cow Face Pose – for getting that itchy spot on my back  (or – junior high – taking a “kick me” sticker off my back)

img_0603

Half Lotus Tree Pose – inspecting the bottom of my shoe / foot for something I might have stepped in (ewwwwww!)

img_0638

Forward fold – tying my shoes

img_0601

Standing hand to foot pose – inspecting my pedicure (or lack of)

img_0626
Supine Knee Squeeze – for perfecting my cannonball jump into the pool
img_0641Upward Hand Pose – for reaching the cookies that I hid from myself

img_0608

Fierce Pose – for hovering over “old school” public toilets (sorry – no photo on this one!)
Knees Chest Chin – for looking under the bed

img_0618

Corpse Pose – for when I’m pretending to be sleeping
img_0649Lions Breath – for getting that last seat on the bus 🙂

photo-34

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Yoga in Every Day Life: The Yoga Toilet (?)”

  1. Ann Says:

    I’ve got Upward Hand Pose perfected (reaching for cookies I hid from myself)! Now to only practice that when not in the kitchen!

  2. Doug Says:

    ok, that’s hilarious!

  3. Ingrid Says:

    I think I’ll stick with my old-fashioned sit-down toilet….

    I always love being reminded of how specific exercises help in every day life – it really helps provide incentive to stick with my practice.

  4. Tiffany Says:

    Julia! What fabulous energy you bring to this blog! I finally visited, and now will be a regular. Thanks for the dressing recipe…was getting tired of plain olive oil and balsamic vinegar… 🙂

Leave a Reply

